Activities Culture

The cultural wing caters to the tastes of the members as well as the cosmopolitan audience and programs are organised in many of the 64 art-forms mentioned in the Sastras viz. music, dance, drama, folk arts (Harikatha, Burrakatha, Tholu Bommalata) etc. Maestros and leading artistes like Pt.Ravi Shankar, Pt.Bhimsen Joshi, Smt.M.S.Subbalakshmi, M.Balamuralikrishna, Dwaram Venkataswami Naidu, Emani Sankara Sastry and his disciple Chitti Babu, U.Srinivas (Mandolin), Sivaprasad (Whistle) et al have delighted the audiences with their dazzling performances. Yella Venkateswara Rao, (mridangam maestro) and his troupe presented a rhythmic extravaganza. Guru Vempati Chinna Satyam, Vedantam Satynarayana Sarma, Sachin Shankar, Yamini Krishnamurthy, Raja & Radha Reddy, Shobha Naidu, Sarala Kumari, Meenakshi Seshadri, Hema Malini, etc are just a few of the great dancers who have enthralled our audiences with their recitals. Kishore Kumar, S.P.Balasubramanyam, P.Suseela, Kalyanji Anandji, Louis Banks (Jazz pianist) et al were also featured.

Melattur Bhagavata Mela - a rare presentation of Yakshagana by the traditional Bhagavata Mela troupe from Melattur of Tamil Nadu was also organised. Mahasabha joined hands with sister associations and Nehru Centre to support Shri G.M.Sarma (convenor) in presenting Kuchipudi Mahotsav '93, the first of its kind in Mumbai. A galaxy of maestros and dance exponents from all over the country participated, enchanting the audiences for three days with their performances and lecture demonstrations. Banda Kanakalingeswara Rao, Prayaga Narasimha Sastry, Suribabu and Nataraja Ramakrishna presented their dramas and entertained the audience. Andhra Nataka Rangotsavam was yet another mega event hosted. Mythological and social dramas by local amateur groups and professionals from upcountry and annual playlet competitions were staged.

Sri Thyagaraja Aradhana is celebrated annually to pay obeisance to the poet-saint through music by local artistes, music lovers and students in a divine atmosphere.